The Ashes

The first ashes series was played in England, in 1887. The ashes are a tour of England or Australia. There are five test matches (five day matches) in this series and whoever wins the most tests wins the ashes series. The last ashes were won by England with a 3-0 victory against Australia.
The squad for the ashes series are as follows:

Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Steven Finn, Simon Kerrigan, Graham Onions, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior (wicket keeper), Joe Root, Graeme Swann, James Taylor, Chris Tremlett, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes.

Michael Clarke (captain), Brad Haddin (vice-captain & wicketkeeper), Ashton Agar, Jackson Bird, Ed Cowan, James Faulkner, Ryan Harris, Phillip Hughes, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), David Warner, Shane Watson.

This year Austrailia won the ashes, 3-0, the opposite of last summer’s score.

By Ameer


One thought on “The Ashes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s